East Waste is the trading name of the Eastern Waste Management Authority.

The Authority is a regional subsidiary of the Adelaide Hills Council, City of Burnside, Campbelltown City Council, City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters, City of Mitcham, City of Prospect, the Corporation of the Town of Walkerville and the City of Unley. established pursuant to Section 43 of the Local Government Act 1999. These eight Councils are referred to as Member or Constituent Councils of the Authority.

The Authority is administered by a Board in accordance with the requirement of the Local Government Act, the Authority’s Charter, and various policies and codes. The membership of the Board comprises seven directors – one director appointed by each of the Member Councils, and one independent person who acts as Chair. The Board appoints a General Manager who is responsible for implementing the decisions made by the Board, and running the day-to-day operations of the Authority.

The Authority’s primary purpose is to provide effective waste collection services for its Member Councils. The exact nature of the waste collection services are determined independently by each Council to meet the needs of their respective communities.

From time to time, East Waste is contracted to provide waste collection services for other councils (referred to as client councils).

Executive Staff