East Waste is the trading name of the Eastern Waste Management Authority. The Authority was established according to the Local Government Act 1999 as a regional subsidiary of eight ouncils – Adelaide Hills Council; City of Burnside; Campbelltown City Council; City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters; City of Mitcham; the City of Prospect; Corporation of the Town of Walkerville and City of Unley (called Member Councils).

East Waste is governed by a board, with a director from each member council, and communicates with its member councils in various ways.

East Waste is administered in accordance with the Local Government Act, the Authority’s Charter, and various policies and codes.


East Waste’s Charter outlines our role and key functions – the collection and disposal of waste and recycling in an environmentally responsible, effective, efficient, economic and competitive manner. The Charter also covers educational responsibilities for both councils and the community as well as the procedures and policies surrounding board powers, meetings, reporting and general management of the Authority. The current version of the Charter for East Waste was gazetted on 28 June 2022. Click here to download a copy of the Charter.

Local Government Act 1999

Our Charter sits within the broader context of the Local Government Act, which is designed to promote better government; encourage community participation in local government; and provide an effective, efficient and accountable system. It also encourages local governments to provide appropriate and ecologically-sustainable services. The Audit and Risk Management Committee was established according to the Act to review East Waste’s accounting and financial management systems as well as annual financial statements and liaise with external auditors.